Species - colour and durability

Nature provides our timbers in a range of colours to match the aesthetics of your building project. We group these into three basic colours However it is important to remember that being natural products, there is variation within the colour tones of a single species;


White Mahogany (Eucalyptus umbra & E. carnea). Durability 1
Tallowwood (E. microcorys). Durability 1


Coastal Red Gum/Grey Gum (E. punctata & E. propinqua). Durability 1
Sydney Blue Gum (E. saligna). Durability 3
Brush Box* (Lophostemon confertus). Durability 3


Spotted Gum* (Corymbia maculata). Durability 2
Grey Ironbark* (E. paniculata & E. siderophloia). Durability 1

* limited supply


Durability ratings

When choosing timber it is also important to consider the environment in which it will be installed, that is indoors or out. The ability of timbers to withstand exposure (i.e. rain, sun and fire) varies greatly between species. For Australian timbers, we use durability ratings based on four classes.

Class 1 – Very durable

above-ground use in excess of 40yrs, in-ground use in excess of 25yrs

Class 2 – Durable

above-ground use 15 – 40yrs, in-ground use 15 – 25yrs

Class 3 – Moderately durable

above-ground use 7 – 15yrs, in-ground use 8 – 15yrs

Class 4 – Non-durable

above-ground use 0 - 7yrs, in-ground use 1-8yrs